League Home League Navigation Banner League Navigation Banner
League Navigation Banner League Navigation Banner Home League Navigation Banner Search League Navigation Banner Site Map League Navigation Banner iStream League Navigation Banner Events Calendar League Navigation Banner League Store League Navigation Banner
League Navigation Banner League Navigation Banner League Navigation Banner
League Navigation Banner
About the League
League Mission
League Initiatives
League Board
League Representatives
League Membership
Press Releases
Privacy Policy
League Staff


National Student Art Competition Winners Announced


The winners of the 2003-2004 Student Art Competition, hosted by Johnson County Community College and coordinated by George Thompson and Julie Haas, were recently announced. The First Place “Best of Show” award was presented to Michael Jaiser, Johnson County Community College for a glass, etched plate, string, paper and ashes piece titled “Self Portrait I.” The Juror’s Purchase Award was presented to Kevin Daly, Moraine Valley Community College for oil on particle board titled, “Global Diplomacy.”

The Second Place award was won by Jane Lanza, Foothill-De Anza Community College District for a wood, aluminum and steel piece titled “Ro-Sham-Bo; ” and Third Place awards were presented to Helena Bedalli, St. Louis Community College at Meramec for oil and mixed media titled “Chicken Series, #4”; Julie Benedetto, Windward Community College for silver gelatin print titled “Lifelines;” and Robert E. May III, San Diego Community College for glazed porcelain “Untitled.”

Honorable Mentions were given to three student artists, including Jamie O’Hare, Delta College for a photograph titled, “Silent Life;” Melissa Rogers , Glendale Community College for a silver gelatin print “Untitled,” and Brandon Smith , Kirkwood Community College for a ceramic piece titled “Raku Vase.”

Under the leadership of Johnson County Community College , the competition included over 9 0 works of art from League colleges. A catalog of all entries is currently being produced by Johnson County Community College and will be mailed to all League members this fall.

The juror for the Student Art Competition 2003-2004 was Jan Schall. Ms. Schall is Sanders Sosland Curator of Modern and Contemporary Art at the Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art in Kansas City , Missouri . In 2000, she was the curator for the three-part millennium exhibition Tempus Fugit: Time Flies and produced both the accompanying exhibition catalog and the award-winning Tempus Fugit website. She is currently working on a book titled Rhythm and Art in Germany , 1900-1930.

The 2004-2005 competition will be hosted by the Cuyahoga Community College and coordinated by Georgian LaGuardia.