League Home League Navigation Banner League Navigation Banner
League Navigation Banner League Navigation Banner Home League Navigation Banner Search League Navigation Banner Site Map League Navigation Banner iStream League Navigation Banner Events Calendar League Navigation Banner League Store League Navigation Banner
League Navigation Banner League Navigation Banner League Navigation Banner
League Navigation Banner
About the League
League Mission
League Initiatives
League Board
League Representatives
League Membership
Press Releases
Privacy Policy
League Staff



League and Microsoft Announce 2000-2002 Microsoft Community and Technical College Advisory Council


The League for Innovation and Platinum Partner Microsoft are pleased to announce the selection of the 2000-2002 Microsoft Community and Technical College Advisory Council. The nomination process for this third advisory council was extended to more than 700 member institutions of the League's Alliance, and 120 nominations were received from institutions in 31 states, Canada, and the United Kingdom. Sixteen council members were selected to represent a diversity of institutional sizes and locations as well as a cross-section of community college staff including administration, faculty, instructional technology, and academic computing.

Council members will participate in annual meetings at Microsoft Corporate Headquarters, focusing on the exchange of information and exploration of issues facing two-year colleges and technology companies. Participating colleges will also engage in evaluation and beta testing of new technology, services, and content under development to help Microsoft better address the needs of higher education. The underlying mission of the council is to develop relationships and communication connections to enhance the work of Microsoft, participating educators, and the higher education community.

Members of the 2000-2002 Community and Technical College Advisory Council are Robert G. Bryan, Vice President, Information Services/Chief Information Officer, Pellissippi State Technical Community College (TN); Wayne T. Caruolo; Associate Vice President, Technology, Red Rocks Community College (CO); H. Lynn Cundiff, President, Salt Lake Community College (UT); Debbie Dlugolenski, President, Georgia Virtual Technical College, DeKalb Technical Institute (GA); Ronald Houle, Instructional Tech Coordinator/Faculty, Central Lakes College (MN); Douglas B. Houston, Director, Information Systems and Institutional Research, Butte College (CA); Dee Ludwig, Associate Dean of Instruction, Eastern Wyoming College (WY); Jim Mazoue', Director, Center for Advancement of Teaching and Technology, Delgado Community College (LA); David McShane, Chief Information Office/Vice President, Information Technology, William Rainey Harper (IL); Claudia Moore; Executive Vice President, Academic Affairs, Genesee Community College (NY); Gerry Pinkney, Executive Director, Information Technology, Durham College (Canada); Sanford C. Shugart; President, Valencia Community College (FL); Gordon F. Snyder, Jr., Professor/ Co-Director, Northeast Center for Telecommunications, Springfield Technical Community College, (MA); Ronald L. Stauss, Vice Chancellor, Telecommunications and Information Systems, North Harris Montgomery Community College District (TX); Mary Wall, Dean, Academic Computing and Distance Education, Atlantic Cape Community College (NJ); Joanne Whitley, Dean, Academic and Student Development Services, Patrick Henry Community College (VA).

League for Innovation council representatives are Chris E. Missel, National Conference Chair and Technologies Specialist, Altamaha Technical College (GA) and Edward Leach, Vice President, Technology Programs.

The League for Innovation in the Community College is an international association dedicated to catalyzing the potential of the community college movement. The League hosts conferences and institutes, develops Web resources, conducts research, produces publications, provides services, and leads projects and initiatives with member colleges, corporate partners, and other agencies in continuing efforts to make a positive difference for students and communities. Information about the League and its activities is available at www.league.org.

Contact: Edward Leach, Vice President, Services Division